City Council

Juan Morales

Juan Morales

Ward 1

Councilmember Iris Carias

Iris Carias

Ward 1

markhulst_Edited.jpg

Mark Hulst

Ward 2

Gary Molenaar
Melissa Beaton
Mary Hudson.jpg

Mary Hudson

Ward 3

Richard Brocksmith

Richard Brocksmith

Council At Large

2021 Ward Map
2021 Ward Map with Photos
MemberWardTerm LengthEmail
Iris Carias
Ward 1January 2018 - December 2021
irisc@mountvernonwa.gov
Juan Morales
Ward 1January 2021 - December 2021juanm@mountvernonwa.gov
Mark HulstWard 2January 2020 - December 2023markh@mountvernonwa.gov
Gary MolenaarWard 2January 2018 - December 2021garym@mountvernonwa.gov
Melissa Beaton
Ward 3January 2018 - December 2021melissab@mountvernonwa.gov
Mary HudsonWard 3January 2020 - December 2023maryh@mountvernonwa.gov
Richard Brocksmith
Council At LargeJanuary 2018 - December 2021richardb@mountvernonwa.gov


About City Council

The City Council is comprised of two members from each of the three wards within the city, and one that represents the city at-large. The Mount Vernon City Council is governed by MVMC Chapter 2.12 "City Council".


Meetings

Council Members meet for regular Council Meetings on the second and fourth Wednesdays each month and for Study Sessions on the first and third Wednesdays. Please check the upcoming Council agenda to confirm dates and times.

Hearing assistance equipment is available for use by the hearing impaired at City Council meetings. Please call the ADA Coordinator at (360) 336-6211 or email mvmayor@mountvernonwa.gov to arrange for any special accommodations that you require. Click here for additional ADA information.


Public Involvement

UPDATE: City Council resumed in-person meetings on March 24, 2021. The City intends to closely adhere to the State's guidance for public meetings, found in the State's revised Miscellaneous Venues guidance, until the time when further open public meeting guidance is provided by the State, for Phase 3 and beyond.


Within these guidelines, a jurisdiction in Phase 2 may conduct in-person meetings with an occupancy in each room limited to 25% of a room's maximum capacity, or 200 people, whichever is fewer. This occupancy maximum excludes staff. For the City of Mount Vernon's City Council chambers, this occupancy cap would equate to approximately 23 members of the public, in addition to City Council members and staff. The multi-purpose room, next to the Council chambers, could accommodate an additional 23 guests as an "overflow" room.


Members of the public may continue to address City Council in writing, by submitting comments to council@mountvernonwa.gov or mailing them to Mount Vernon City Hall, Attn: Mayor's Office, 910 Cleveland Avenue, Mount Vernon, WA 98273. All submissions received prior to 4pm on the day of a City Council Meeting (2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month) will be read by City staff during Community Comments, or for a Public Hearing.


A live television (TV10) and online (YouTube) feed of the meeting will continue to be available to the public:

Agendas

Meeting agendas are available for public review here.


Contact City Council
Email addresses for City Councilmembers can be found in the table above, leave a message at (360) 336-6211, or write to 910 Cleveland Avenue, Mount Vernon, WA 98273.