City Council



Councilmember - Ward 1

Currently Vacant

Councilmember Iris Carias

Iris Carias

Ward 1

markhulst_Edited.jpg

Mark Hulst

Ward 2

Gary Molenaar
Melissa Beaton
Mary Hudson.jpg

Mary Hudson

Ward 3

Richard Brocksmith

Richard Brocksmith

Council At Large

City Council Ward Map - Oct 2020
City Council Ward Map 10.2020
MemberWardTerm LengthEmail
Currently Vacant
Ward 1through December 2023
Iris Carias
Ward 1January 2018 - December 2021irisc@mountvernonwa.gov
Mark HulstWard 2January 2020 - December 2023markh@mountvernonwa.gov
Gary MolenaarWard 2January 2018 - December 2021garym@mountvernonwa.gov
Melissa Beaton
Ward 3January 2018 - December 2021melissab@mountvernonwa.gov
Mary HudsonWard 3January 2020 - December 2023maryh@mountvernonwa.gov
Richard Brocksmith
Council At LargeJanuary 2018 - December 2021richardb@mountvernonwa.gov


About City Council

The City Council is comprised of two members from each of the three wards within the city, and one that represents the city at-large. The Mount Vernon City Council is governed by MVMC Chapter 2.12 "City Council".


Meetings

Council Members meet for regular Council Meetings on the second and fourth Wednesdays each month and for Study Sessions on the first and third Wednesdays. Please check the upcoming Council agenda to confirm dates and times.

Hearing assistance equipment is available for use by the hearing impaired at City Council meetings. Please call the ADA Coordinator at (360) 336-6211 or email mvmayor@mountvernonwa.gov to arrange for any special accommodations that you require. Click here for additional ADA information.


Public Involvement

UPDATE: Due to current statewide restrictions that prevent City Council from meeting in person, Mount Vernon City Council meetings will be held virtually, using Zoom meeting software. The public may view these meetings live on the City's YouTube channel - a live link to each meeting is included on each meeting agenda.

In an effort to continue to allow public comment during this time that the state is prohibiting the public from physically attending a Council meeting; the Mayor and City Council invite you to send your comments directly to City Council by emailing them to: council@mountvernonwa.gov. These comments will be read, live, at each Council meeting during the Community Comments agenda item.

City Council Meetings and Study Sessions are open to the public. The public is allowed to address City Council on non-agenda items at the beginning of each meeting.


Agendas

Meeting agendas are available for public review here.


Contact City Council
Email addresses for City Councilmembers can be found in the table above, leave a message at (360) 336-6211, or write to 910 Cleveland Avenue, Mount Vernon, WA 98273.